PC based appliances, touchscreens, technology & innovation

Today I made the seemingly unsubstantiated claim on Twitter that WHS vNext would be released in the first half of 2010, which was followed by many requests for more information / detail.  Insofar as written detail or links, I’ve got nothing that will excite you.  Sorry.  But I can add some context to my comments.

On 14 October, the Sydney Windows User Group met – with one of the purposes to discuss Windows Homer Server from a real life point of view.  I made some comments about that night in an earlier post, and shared my deck from the night. One of the points of discussion was the timing around the release of WHS based on WS2K8 R2.  One of the user group organisers observed that WHS vNext is currently scheduled for early 2010 – March was mentioned.  I’m happy enough to aim  for the first half of 2010 as a target – I know that these things move about sometimes.

It’s worth noting:

  • The user group organiser is not a Microsoft employee;
  • If he didn’t have an answer for the question, he wouldn’t have made something up – he doesn’t strike me as that sort of guy.

It’s also worth noting that, as others have already surmised, 2008 is a 64bit only OS, so if you’re making a design or purchasing decision now and want to future proof, you should take that into account.

I’m happy to ask/answer specific follow up questions posted to comments, Twitter, or email.

Leave a Reply

